Reminder or just meant to be?

Today at work, I bumped into someone I haven’t met for over a year. Well, he kind of bumped into me. Literally. 15 minutes of catching up, resulted in an exchange of numbers and a promise of meeting up when we’re free.

This meeting, in combination of a few other things, made me realize some things. Some more pleasant than others, and some less pleasant. Lately, I’ve been acquainted with a guy that seem to be negative about everything. There is nothing  positive that comes out from his mouth, unless it’s about how tasty some food is. I also learned after a phone call that some people are just too stubborn to put the past in the past. In my honest opinion, forgiving is not an easy thing, but nontheless it’s an important thing. Just like patience, it’s a virtue. I don’t think that one can be truly happy, unless one is capable of forgiving no matter what was done. The past is a part of history. And history is not meant to be forgotten. It’s there as a reminder of a time when mistakes were made. Thus we should learn from it, nothing else.

Maybe it’s just me, thinking that there is good in all people no matter what they’ve done. Maybe I was born that way, maybe I was taught to think that way. I don’t know. All I know for sure after today, is that there is so much more to life than just being angry, bitter and/or not able to forgive. And there is nothing more annoying than to hear someone say: “I gave up my life long time ago” or “I can’t forgive because of what s/he did x years ago”. Really? Life is way too short to be spent resenting or agonizing. A little of it is fine, then we can learn to appreciate and enjoy, but filling your life with it – now that is a waste.

With that said, I don’t know what to think about what happened today. Either it’s a reminder of the past telling me not to repeat the same mistake again, or it’s just meant for us to be friends. I sincerely hope for the latter.

//c_Cae; “life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, but to learn how to dance in the rain”

Leave a Reply

