The warmth of a hand

The elders had warned them. If it was true, there was no point in proving themselves while endangering their lives. But Ren insisted, Akia on the other hand, was doubtful. She knew that if they went in, they’d never come back.

Hesitatingly, she let Ren hold her hand.

~

“Where is Akia”, asked the elders when Ren stepped out.

“What do you mean? She is right here.”

Ren pulled his hand out of the mist thinking he was holding her hand. But the only thing left in his hand was a pink little mushroom. All warm, just like her.

8 responses to “The warmth of a hand

  1. Madison Woods

    Oh I like that! I like the mystery and it could become a whole story just based on this 100 words. Is that what you’ll do?

    Sorry it took me so long to get back to reading. I missed your post when you made it and haven’t been online much over the weekend.

    • Hi Madison,

      Thanks for liking it. It took me quite a while to come up with it, longer than usual.
      Perhaps I’ll continue on it, I’m not sure yet. It all depends on if I have the time to.

      Don’t worry about taking so long to read it, we all need to get away from the internet sometimes.

      Cheers,
      Cae

  2. ooh I really like this well done.

  3. The power of doubt…excellent, Robin

  4. Hi Caely,

    I’m back from vacaation and missing you. I’m glad you posted this and sorry I missed it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Hi D,

      I hope your vacation was good to you. Did you get to play a lot of disc golf? You haven’t mentioned it in a while, makes me wonder, you know.

      Anyhow, don’t be sorry for missing my story. You have now read it and that’s all I can ask for :)

      Love,
      Cae

      • Cae,

        I love disc golf so much that I can tend to make people’s eyes glaze over by talking too much about it. On the 5th and 6th of November I played in the Hawaii State Disc Golf Championships on Maui and placed second in my division (Old guys with canes). Had one of the best times of my life. then flew to California and played DG with son and his new wife for about 5 days straight. Won a small monthly tournament at his home course. Rode 17 times on 8 different roller coasters, too. First time I’ve done that (ride a roller coaster) since long, long ago. Very cool. Didn’t puke once.

        Now I’m back home and decompressing. Read your latest post. Don’t worry about the people sleeping through lectures. The world needs people on the bottom of the heap. You rock, girl.

        Aloha,

        Doug

Leave a Reply

