Writer’s cramp

A mother’s instinct told her this kind of heat was fierce, and could rob the life of her and her young. Her cubs rested gently between her razor sharp teeth. Her heart felt heavy. After all this was a home she had hoped to bring up the next generation. Abandoning this warmth was far more important than anything. She had to choose between life and home, and life would always win.

Gosh, I said to myself. I don’t know what to do with this awful story. I better leave now before the fire gets here. Oh right, the computer’s charger.

18 responses to “Writer’s cramp

  1. Not many comments on this one – I think no one knows what to say! The dark side, the writer’s dilemma exposed! I sympathise, and I laugh.

    • Haha, it’d be interesting if I left anyone speechless. And I’m glad I made you laugh :)

  2. A story within a story very clever. I liked the POV of the threatened mother bear. Thought about coming at from this angle myself. You pulled it off nicely.
    Here’s mine: http://bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

  3. Dear Cae,

    I see you evolving weekly. This story was one of your best because you told two stories with the allotted words and because you imagination was running in high gear to do so. I am so happy to see you grow as you entertain us.

    Aloha,

    D.

    • Dear D,

      Thank you for your kind words. It felt somewhat weird when I was writing it, since it felt very new. I guess that is a part of growing:)

      Cheers,
      Cae

  4. Madison Woods

    Hahah, I’ve often wondered if I would run back in for my flash drive… but never considered that I might not want to get up from my seat until the last minute. Good story within a story :)

    • Glad you liked it! I kept wondering myself what I would do in such a situation. I guess we won’t know unless it actually happens.

  5. Nice work! sorry for my delayed comment – got distracted from reading blogs yesterday by the rest of life!
    I love the mixture of the two stories – and the bear POV section is fantastically written.

    • Thank you. Don’t worry about the late post, I’m just as late with replying. Besides, there are so many interesting blogs out there, it gets hard to keep track of everything.

  6. Loved how disoriented I became with the second story and how quickly I chuckled.

  7. Nice twist. Had this been set in a different time, your character, dissatisfied with the story, could have said, “I’d better leave before the fire gets here. Take the typewriter; leave the story.” LOL!

    Here’s my entry for this week: http://wp.me/p24aJS-2l

    • Oh, reading your comment had me thinking of what the story would be like if it was set in a steampunk era… I might use that sometime. Thanks!

  8. Your “awful story” reminds me of the way mother hens will cover their chicks with their own bodies and perish before allowing the chicks to be hurt. I’ve often wondered why “chicken” is used to describe a coward. Sorry–I know that’s off topic but I was reminded of that. You certainly presented an “outside the box” story. Well done!

    • Definitely not off topic! Random facts are great after all, and I guess that is how they are remembered as well. Thanks for reading.

  9. Hoppas du får en bra helg!

Leave a Reply

