You’ll never look like that, because that is not you

While I wait for my food to get ready, I’ll make a few doodles here.

I read a lot. Among the things I read daily, are blogs, newspapers, and the occasional book. If anything among these three, that I do get hung up on, it’s the newspapers. Especially the articles on weight loss and the ones on how fit you’re supposed to be. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for exercise and I exercise way too little. Most the articles try to attract readers by having headlines that read something in lines of “How to lose 20kg in two weeks”. My reaction? Not possible unless you go for a lipo-suction, and I’m not a big fan of people resorting to such measures if they haven’t tried everything else before going under the knife.

Usually, I find these articles in a very popular newspaper here. Today, I found something that caught my attention. A video of a PT (personal trainer) that has worked with many models (read Victoria’s Secret). And I’m a very huge fan of the VS fashion show, mostly because these girls shine incredibly much (and they’re mind-blowingly beautiful) but also because the show gives me a great amount of inspiration. Back to my point, in this video the trainer said something that immediately etched itself in my mind: You look at the models and you say you wanna look like that. You’ll never look like that, because that is not you. Not your body. I don’t think I could’ve said it better myself. I don’t think anyone ever thinks that their body is unique, and even though you might not be size zero (which is totally wrong btw) you could still be at your body’s fittest. So go for model-fit, and not model-thin.

Here’s the video, they speak English so don’t worry :)

//c_Cae; you can’t love anyone else unless you love yourself first!

2 responses to “You’ll never look like that, because that is not you

  1. Dear C,

    I used to worry about being model thin, but thanks to your post I’m now going to concentrate solely on being model fit. It’s going to take me some time, but I think that several weeks after I’m dead my BMI will be perfect.

    Have a good day, week, month, year and life.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dearest D,

      BMI isn’t a good measure of how well your body is feeling since it doesn’t take into account the muscles in your body (it’s only a relation between your height and weight). Weight is just like age, it’s just a number. What only matters is that you are feeling well (and don’t join the club for cardiac disease) no matter your weight :)
      I used to think that BMI and model thin was all there was, then I realized that there are so much more to life than focusing on your looks. It’s what is in your heart that counts, and I can tell yours is warm.

      Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain. So dance with me, my friend.

      Love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

