Observations

It has always been an interest of mine to observe. And now that I have studied some behaviors (among animals as well as humans), the way people act on buses and other public places fascinate me.

Today, a pregnant woman gave up her seat to an elderly man. Let’s make a few things clear first. The elderly man could barely manage himself on to the vehicle and was about as agile as the pregnant woman. Both need the seat equally much in my opinion. But here’s what happens. In a bus full of youngsters (read: students in their 20s), no one, absolutely no one offered the old man their seat. They didn’t even look at him or in any way tried to get his attention.

I don’t know what happens in the minds of others. Hell, I’m not even sure I know what happens in my mind. But obviously, the people on that bus today did not care much for others. It makes me wonder how much they care about themselves (the Buddhist in me is speaking here). I was raised to be respectful to the people in my surroundings, and for me, it’s crystal clear that I would give up a seat for anyone who look like they need my seat more than I. Clearly, that was not the case with these people. I just don’t get it. Sometimes, I want to give up understanding others. But on the other hand, everything would be much more boring if I was to stop observing. What kind of scientist would that make me?

//c_Cae; new layout… not sure what to think of it…

4 responses to “Observations

  1. Karma will catch the young ones up. Some will realize what was what, others never will and will die wondering why the world is so hard.

    Were you the pregnant woman that gave up her seat for that man?

    If so, i love you all the more.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • I sure hope so. I knew people were selfish, but to the point where they don’t help others was beyond my imagination.

      And, yes, I was that person who gave up her seat. The old man needed it more than I, at least I thought so.

      Love,
      Cae

      • Dear Cae,

        Karma’s going to buoy you throughout your long life, Cae. If you were here now i’d give you oxygen (for the altitude) and a huge hug.

        Aloha,

        Doug

      • D,

        We’d probably end up talking endlessly about it over coffee/tea and forget to sleep.

        Love,
        Cae

Leave a Reply

