Finding balance

Today, the little miracle we named Zoe turned three weeks. Since then, I’ve been trying to find balance between school work and family. So far it has been pretty hard. Our first night was awful, didn’t sleep much. This week, however, has gotten better and I now have tracked down which hours Zoe is sound asleep and which hours I like to sleep myself. I keep getting advice about when I should sleep (read: sleep whenever your baby sleeps). But I can’t do that, babies sleep like 18 hours a day. I still have other duties to tend to, like making sure our home actually looks like a home and not like a kindergarten playground; taking care of myself is another thing that is important. Those things and school work are as important as any. I mean, I’ve been so tired, I’ve worn my glasses for two-three days now because my eyes are hurting due to the lack of sleep. I’m still not complaining, just explaining so keep that in mind when reading ;)

So during the roughly 6 hours I am actively awake, Zoe sleeps about 3 of those. During the other three hours, I have to do all the things I want and need to do. Thing is, with the lack of sleep, my apetite is also downed thus making my efficiency in school work (a.k.a. essay writing) a lot slower. And that is horrible, because I promised myself that I’d finish this essay in three weeks, and one week has already flown away without me even had sort out the important parts of the articles I’ve acquired. Yuck @ inefficiency.

I’ll find the balance again, I’m sure of it. I just don’t know when, and I try my best not to let that get to me too much. I mean, soon enough, Zoe will learn the proper rhythms and I’ll be allowed to do things like I used to. Well, almost like I used to at least ;)

//c_Cae; continues to work through the articles

2 responses to “Finding balance

  1. Dear Caely,

    Another perfect post for your extended family in far flung places. I have no doubt you will find balance because you’ve never really lost it. You’re just adjusting. Zoe is a lucky girl and the Dutchman a lucky guy. Me, I’m just lucky. Thanks for keeping me in your thoughts.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dearest D,

      I don’t know who is luckiest; you, me, Zoe, or the Dutchman. I can’t, and probably never will, be able to express in words what our friendship means to me. I just know I’ll cherish it forever.

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, too. One day, we’ll celebrate it together :)

      Lots of love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

