Finally!

I have no words how much I have longed for my thesis so start, and now it finally has! Since last week, I have been introduced to the lab I will be working at. So far, it seems fairly easy to handle the little flies.

The topic of my thesis, is unfortunately not about fish as I had wished for, but is instead about fruit flies. Naturally, there is only one eye color, a red one. But due to mutations, there is also a brown eye color. Fruit flies are simple organisms, and mated females are more picky about the males they will mate with in comparison to virgin females, who will be less picky about their males. My current main focus will be testing whether or not the males will learn from experiences with mated and virgin females, and later choose virgins because of a higher probability of success.

I never thought fruit flies would get me so excited about the topic, but I guess I am really fired up about sexual selection. We’ll see where this takes me. I am already in love with the lab to the extent that I long to sit there for hours and do my research.

That was the school update.

Zoe has four teeth now, and two are on their way. She had a fever last Friday, and I got totally engulfed in my motherhood that I didn’t even pay attention to my surroundings. I am usually very observant, but when Zoe had her fever, I can’t even tell you if our TV was on or not. I just sat there with her on my chest and tried to calm her and give her lots of water. I had to skip work that following Saturday, but what won’t you do for your child?

Standing on her own!

Standing on her own!

Yay!

Yay!

She also has become more confident on her balance. She takes many risks when she’s playing on the floor, and will take any chance to stand up. This scares the living crap out of me, but that’s how she will learn and I will simply have to cope with it.

This will have to do for an update, I got some research to do. And I wonder if my food is ready yet… I’m starving.

The giraffe is supposed to be standing straight up. I woke up because of the sound it made when it hit the wall. Someone tried to look innocent...

The giraffe is supposed to be standing straight up. I woke up because of the sound it made when it hit the wall. Someone tried to look innocent…

Got this for the Dutchman because he's a huge Superman fan. Art from kaizenart.se

Got this for the Dutchman because he’s a huge Superman fan. Art from kaizenart.se

//c_Cae; where’s my food? 

 

Leave a Reply

