The thing with old people

Here’s the deal. I was raised to always be respectful to my elders. In my adult self (the adult society considers me to be, at heart I’m forever 20), that has imprinted to be a very big part of me. So whenever I see an elderly person in need (doesn’t have to be very old, as long as they look like they’re older than me), I feel this huge responsibility to help them.

At work, there are a lot of elderly people that come shop their weekly veggies, and they love to talk. I don’t blame them. Most of them probably live alone. Once they get out, they want to talk. Very simple.
However, what annoys me is when their relatives/caretakers don’t listen to whatever it is these old people have to say. It annoys the living crap out of me. Think about it, they have a life time of stories to tell you, and you don’t want to listen. Yet you complain your life is boring. Really?

For me, it’s always been interesting to hear people out. To hear of their childhood, first crushes, and so on. I think it has something to do with the stories my grandparents used to tell me about their lives. I remember the story my grandpa told me about how grandma used to gamble to earn them money during the Vietnam war. She’s good at it, don’t ever play anything with her. Not even on the Sega Saturn. At some point, I got so fired up, I wanted to get in touch with every survivor of the Holocaust and talk to them just to write down their stories. So they could live on through that. I also partially blame the movie The Boy In Striped Pyjamas. If you haven’t seen, see it! 

I know I’ve been sloppy about the updates. I really want to get better, so I will try harder. Peace and love until next time.

//c_Cae; trying to get back to scientific writing again….

5 responses to “The thing with old people

  1. Dearest Caely,

    You are beautiful beyond measure. I’m going to come over there and buy some veggies and talk, because now I know there is someone who will listen. I, too, am forever seventeen (a young twenty, same-same) and cant tell you stories from both side of the fence. To young children I am now ancient, to people in their middle age I am their future, though they think they’ll never arrive where i am, to people my age I am young at heart and do more things than most and to people older than me I am young. It’s all a matter of perspective and experience. In defense of those caregivers I must tell you that they have probably heard all the stories about a thousand times. That doesn’t excuse their impoliteness, but may help explain it.

    That you lend an interested ear to the stories is a good and grand thing. Don’t ever change. This world needs you.

    Love and Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dearest D,

      I would love to sit for endless hours to listen to your stories. Even if you were to repeat them, I would listen. For me and my writing, you were the first blogger to inspire me to such extent that I now think of you whenever I want to write. Let it be for a job or schoolwork, it is always you and my memories of you that I think of.

      I hope you’re doing well despite the shutdown of the American government. I think of my American friends all the time (also, you’re welcome to join me here in Sweden whenever you want. My home is your home).

      Lots of love,
      Caely

  2. Dear Caely,

    I can’t say it better than Doug. I work in a grocery store and there are some elderly (older than me) folks who have fascinating stories if only someone will listen. Your grandma sounds like a force to be reckoned with.
    I work with much younger people. My closest coworker is half my age, could be my daughter. I enjoy the interaction with her.
    In any case, I’ll stop babbling and tell you how much I enjoyed reading your words this morning. Of course, being Jewish, I grew up hearing many first hand Holocaust stories.
    You are a rare gift, Caely.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thank you for commenting. You haven’t followed me for long, but you’ve grown on me. Much like D, I think of you when I haven’t blogged in a while. I love your comments, they always put a smile on my face, no matter how dull my day may be.
      And I would love to meet you too one day, and listen to your stories.

      Love,
      Caely

  3. Pingback: Wow | A marine biologist in the making

Leave a Reply

