Recovery and a birthday

I don’t count days anymore. I just know my daily chores and how it feels like it’s been forever since I posted. The past (two?) days I have spent in bed. Luckily, the Dutchman has been home (he works shifts), so Zoe has not been put aside. She never will be, I assure you.This morning, I felt like it was awful for me to waste another day. I remember thinking: This day will get worse without me. I got up, despite an aching back because I overworked it cleaning the whole apartment thoroughly last Friday.

I cleaned because we expected guests. I had planned a little drop-in thing for family and friends to celebrate Zoe’s very first birthday. I really, really cannot believe she has turned one. The attention she got was overwhelming, and now half our living room is filled with her toys. She loves it, and she loved everything about last Saturday so I consider it a ginormous win. Zoe is happy, and her parents were exhausted = successful birthday. I had gotten her a chocolate raspberry cake, and it was divine. I am usually very reluctant to her tasting very sweet things, but I had made a few exceptions. She loved the cake, but she probably did not understand what it was for. She’ll get there.

Reading before bedtime. I had no idea what she said. I'm still not fluent in baby yet.

Reading before bedtime. I had no idea what she said. I’m still not fluent in baby yet.

The cake!

The cake!

"So, why are you guys singing so awkwardly?"

“So, why are you guys singing so awkwardly?”

"Should I touch? No? But, why, it's totally telling me to touch it."

“Should I touch? No? But, why? It’s totally telling me to touch it.”

I don’t really know where I am. I think I’m still in denial. I hate it, but that’s how it works. Hopefully, I can just study away with this. I have a lot on my mind. Things like how interesting physiology is, or how tempted male fruit flies deprived of sex develop physical stress symptoms and die earlier. My mind is full of biology. I would normally rejoice in it, but now I’m just wondering where I put that bottle of cold water. Yes, I am indeed very confused. I wanted to write a follow-up post to my previous one, but then I remembered how much I prefer to smile than to cry. On the other hand, this makes me feel better later, and I just realized I spent half the night studying… I should sleep, but first, allow me to make you guys smile/laugh, too. Check this out:

Never, ever fails to make me laugh. Like they say; it’s funny because it’s true!

//c_Cae; now excuse me, I got a date with my bed~

2 responses to “Recovery and a birthday

  1. Dear Caely,

    Sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling well. More of a challenge with little ones. How well I remember. Moms are supposed to be indestructible. Glad you have the Dutchman and hope you got some much needed rest.

    Zoe’s a year old already? That was a fast year. I love the pictures. The cake is fun. Zoe looks a little apprehensive. As she gets older and grows more aware of herself and surroundings birthdays will get to be more fun…and hectic.

    Can’t say my head’s ever filled with biology. ;) How you manage to study and keep up is a mystery to this right brainer.

    The average Asian aging process looks a little like the average Ashkenazic aging process.

    Thank you for sharing your life. Now get some rest.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dearest R,

      Don’t worry, I’m doing better for each day I like to believe.
      I know, right? Moms are superheroes, nothing breaks them.

      You know, everytime someone says “Zoe, go to mommy”, I look at them wondering who on Earth they’re talking about before I realize it’s me. I don’t mind her birthdays being hectic, as long as that little precious girl has a smile on her face, I am fine with it!

      I’ll tell you a secret of how I can manage this busy life: I have no idea what I’m doing. Haha.
      Oh, that means we have something more in common other than writing ;) (the aging process!)

      Thanks a million for commenting, means the world to me.
      Love,
      Caely

Leave a Reply

