Nothing scheduled

Today, I got to experience something I haven’t experienced in a while – nothing scheduled. It was weird. Really, I cannot describe how weird it felt last night when I realized I had nothing to do the following day. So naturally, I spent a few hours on the phone (I’ll get back to that), before I realized that if I worked a little ahead of schedule, I would have Wednesday completely free of any duties. I wrote a little for our upcoming report (deadline next week), and spent most of today trying to figure out what else I could do to decrease the amount of work the coming days. It’s like I don’t know what a break is, yet I could really need a vacation to say, Hawaii or Australia.

About that phone call, it was with a friend I admire. Hah, that’s the understatement of the year, I admire all my friends, in one way or the other. Anyway, he’s very kind, but like a lot of people, he’s a bit misunderstood. It’s like he’s trying too hard to satisfy other people. He kept telling me that I inspire him, that this world needs people like me (made me think of you guys, D & R ;)). I kept telling him that I have a hard time taking compliments in. I don’t know why, but I have gotten better at dishing them out at least. I couldn’t before. I don’t really know what this post was really about when I first started writing it, I just felt like I wanted to write and I can’t really write the whole report that’s due next week. It’s a group work after all. I could review all the other reports we have to read until the seminar on Friday, but I should sleep. I’ll probably end up writing.

Until next time, listen to this and throw yourselves back to the 90’s. This is from 1997, but don’t feel old. Embrace the fact that you lived to hear this. This particular song takes me back to when I heard it the first time on a trip to Copenhagen when I was way young. I had just discovered music, almost got lost in the Danish capital, and I fell in love with Kirsten Dunst.

//c_Cae; workoholic checking in…

Leave a Reply

