Big day for a little girl

The Dutchman and I have gotten a frequently asked question lately. People we meet keep asking whether Zoe has started walking. Ever since we started training her leg strength since she was five months (she’s one of those babies that doesn’t like being still, not even when she couldn’t roll around), we’ve kind of longed for her to be able to walk. Today, she did that. She walked all by herself! No need to add that we’re super-proud. She also said her name for the first time! So yeah, a lot of things happened today in her development.

I guess soon she’ll run around the apartment, being as reckless as ever. We’ve also noticed that she pretends to read stuff, and she even recognizes the letters A and T. Super-weird, but interesting nonetheless.

"And here, you see that there's important stuff written on it."

“And here, you see that there’s important stuff written on it.”

It’s hilarious!
As for school, things are tuning down a little bit, but hopefully only for a little while. You guys know me by now, I really don’t like slow paces. However, I hope the fly project is still on (since I haven’t been in the lab in forever). If not, I’m thinking I might get something else for my thesis. Life, it keeps giving me lemons, and I intend to make orange juice and have people wonder how I did it.

I’ve also noticed how people tend to jump to the conclusion that since I have a kid, it automatically makes me tired all the time. That’s not true, I’m only tired on days where I haven’t gotten enough sleep. Which are most nights when I decide to work until 1-2am, fully aware that I need to get up 4-5 hours later. I do it to myself, and it has nothing to do with the fact that I have a child. It’s like it’s a common conclusion people make when I’m sitting there being honest. Same thing when people tell me they need more than 2 days off every week. Being cleared of work is nice, I must admit, but only in moderate doses. When I told them, they’d never want to trade their everyday life with mine, they were all “but you’re a mom, that’s different. You kind of have to be busy all the time.” 

I do understand that motherhood comes first, but that shouldn’t be the reason as to why I am busy or tired. It’s like I’m being judged from just being a mom, and that it kind of makes me disqualified for things that I am besides being a mother. Oh well, I guess I can’t help how others think.

And my kindness toward people is paying off! Zoe wasn’t feeling well this morning and I had to stay at home, leaving my group by themselves. Thankfully, they understood my situation. I can’t express how thankful I am, but I’m sure they know. I have really adopted the “treat everyone equally, because you don’t know their story”. And it pays off! I’m loving it!

Yup, truly some words to live by.

//c_Cae; race against time! must wash hair before it gets too late~

5 responses to “Big day for a little girl

  1. Dear Caely,

    Congratulations on the milestones. If Zoe moves half as fast as you do, you’re going to wear out a lot of shoes chasing her. I love the picture of her ‘reading’. Won’t be long now, will it?

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Dear Caely,

    It’s fun watching you and Zoe grow. I’m sure you’ll be running to keep up with her. If not physically, mentally. She so reminds me of Shannon. Slow to walk, fast to speak and read. I told him once that I needed to go back to school just to answer his questions.
    As far as I can tell, you’re doing a fantastic job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thanks for riding the bus with us ;)
      Ever since you told me about Shannon, I feel so much closer to you.
      Haha, if Zoe ever pops a question I can’t answer, I’ll tell her we’ll learn together.

      Love,
      Cae

  3. And that was my answer to Shannon. ;)

Leave a Reply

