Found these earlier today

I was browsing photos we had on the iPad, and I found these two gems. Couldn’t help but laugh my ass off the chair.

"Um, mom? I'm trying to look at that shiny screen over there, you mind not kissing me just this one moment?"

“Um, mom? I’m trying to look at that shiny screen over there, you mind not kissing me just this one moment?”

Probably the best picture that shows she has my China eyes....

Probably the best picture that shows she has my China eyes….

Presentations today went well, at least everyone else’s did. Mine was a little flawed, but I guess that comes with it when you know exactly what you wanna say, but in the heat of the moment – you forget. The feedback I got was surprisingly positive. I guess the course mates are more awesome than I thought, and that I have ridiculous expectations of myself. Even my parents were amazed by my grade (truth is, I was too). So instead of being the stereotypic Asian parents they used to be, they actually told me I did a good job. What. The. Actual. Fuck. That was probably the hardest thing to take in today, but I guess I need to stop thinking like the stereotypic Asian.

Yup, pretty much sums it all up.

Meeting with my supervisor went well today. I am very thankful for the patience that is given me, so I need to do this properly now. My hopes are to do this, and finish before summer break. If I am able to do this, I can go apply for an internship in Helsingborg (city that’s located 1h car drive north of Malmö, where I live). I worry about the statistical results, so maybe it need to be prolonged over summer although I hope that is not the case. Fingers crossed! Got to go, I need to spend time reading on a report, and follow-up on my online course about fish (and write an exam) before going to bed. This was supposed to be a “I-am-totally-gonna-merge-with-the-couch” night, but I guess that’s how workoholics work, yes?

//c_Cae; stereotypes, huh? 

4 responses to “Found these earlier today

  1. Dear Caely,

    I love the pictures of you and Zoe. What a delight. I’m guessing your parents have figured out who you are and what you are made of. They probably know that you’re on your way and are saying to themselves, “Our work is done here.” Now all that remains is to spoil Zoe with your loving approval and watch you fly.

    I echo them in saying, “Good job, Caely.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dear D,

      Welcome back to my comments, I’ve missed you and your words. I never thought that they’d think like that, but I guess as a parent, you have to let go at some point. I think I still feel like I’m not completely grown up for my parents to let go, but like most nervousness, that’ll go away eventually.

      As always, thank you for your wisdom.

      Love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    Zoe’s such a cutie, but then she looks like her mom so why wouldn’t she be? No doubt your parents see that they’ve done a great job where you’re concerned. I don’t see how they could push you any more than you push yourself.

    I understand about a presentation not going as planned. I once did a humorous monologue at a drama contest. “The Waltz” by Dorothy Parker. I knew I’d be pushing to get it into a five minute slot even with my edits. Lo and behold I finished early. Much to my horror I realized later I’d left out almost an entire page. This may be comparing apples to watermelons but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. ;)

    You’re doing a great job, Cae.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Oh, thanks for saying that! A lot of people say she looks just like her dad and nothing like her mom.

      I wish I was there to see you present. You’re an inspiration to me (even though the Fictioneers tend to run on a track right next to mine, so I only get a tiny glance), so one day I really hope to see you give a talk. I bet the audience thought you did great.

      Thank you for sharking.

      Lots of love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

