Invitation to a graduation ceremony

Wait, what?

A few days ago, I received a mail about a graduation ceremony at the university. At first, I didn’t think too much about it, but since the mail included an invitation with an RSVP date, I figured I’d look into it. So I did, and it turns out that students that are close to finishing their education, let it be a BSc, MSc, or PhD, gets one of these invitations.

“Wait, then why am I getting this? I’m nowhere near finished. Oh…”  That’s when it occurred to me that I actually get to finish my BSc before summer starts. Enter the “what-just-happened”-mode. Having no idea what just happened to me, I chose to talk to a dear friend. After a lot of discussion, and a little persuasion from him, I decided to attend. Now, I just need to explain to my parents that this graduation ceremony does not mean that I am finished. I just reached one of my goals, that I am one step closer to my dream. Me going raises more questions than it answers. I have no idea what my graduation certificate should say, because I’ve included so many Master’s degree courses in it, and many of them are aquatic which makes my BSc differ from a regular BSc in biology. My student councillor might know, I just need to get a hold of her, something that proves to be harder than to find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow…

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 7.44.09 am

//c_Cae; how to do this…

3 responses to “Invitation to a graduation ceremony

  1. Dear Caely,

    What a wonderful way to celebrate a milestone on the road to your ultimate goal. Frame that certificate and display it proudly. :D

    In my journey as an author I have two framed rejection letters from agents and an acceptance letter from the one who did accept my novel.

    You are most certainly Caely in the making…Congratulations. I’m looking forward to watching you take more steps toward the prize.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      I will! I need to find a place to up it up. Our walls are still pretty empty, so I got many places to choose from.

      I admire you for framing in even your rejection letters, although I imagine they were huge milestones in your journey, too.

      Thank you, my friend.

      Cheers,
      Caely

  2. Dear Caely,

    I’ve been fortunate in that my rejections have been few. The first one I framed is from the first agent I ever pitched to. While he voiced an interest in my novel, I think we both knew we weren’t a good fit. But he made me jump through some hoops that helped me grow. I had to write a book proposal and a marketing plan as well as sending him the first three chapters. His rejection letter started out, “This was just excellent, Rochelle, but…” Not your typical form letter.

    The second is a handwritten letter. While she was intrigued and felt that my book would be published, the market in 2009 was iffy. But to have taken the time to have written such a note was huge. Then as it turns out the agent who accepted the book was the other agent’s assistant at that time.

    So yes, they are huge milestones.

    Happy to share with you. We’re on this bus together. ;)

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

