Writing in Swedish

It’s awkward. Although it is my second language, it’s so weird and somewhat uncomfortable writing in it. I’ve always found Chinese and English to be languages with much more expressions in them than Swedish. It’s odd, isn’t it? I guess, though, that 10 years of blogging in English does things to you.

Enough about that, I need to get going on the last exam of the fish course. I’m only halfway. I’d probably be faster if it was to be handed in in English. I even have to look up the Swedish meaning of English words… And there’s a lot of information to put on a few pieces of paper. Lucky we’re not space limited :)

Here’s something that makes the Swedish language weirder:

Screen Shot 2014-05-04 at 7.13.09 pm

//c_Cae; skriv, skriv, skriv! (translation: write, write, write!)

3 responses to “Writing in Swedish

  1. Dear Caely,

    You have my undying and utmost respect. I’m fluent in English and that’s about it, although given the right circumstances I could become fluent in Spanish. I’ve taken Hebrew as well and did fairly well in Israel, but haven’t really practiced it much over the past year so I’ve forgotten much.

    Even as a child it bothered me that in other countries, kids were required to learn a second language. I even tried taking German in high school, along with Spanish and was being tutored in Hebrew. I translated my German into Spanish and found myself writing from right to left in English. Sigh.

    Spanish comes in very handy as I have a growing number of friends who speak it as their first language. So I’m catching up a bit.

    A friend of mine summed it up:

    What do you call someone who speaks two languages?
    Bilingual
    What do you call someone who speaks three languages?
    Trilingual.
    What do you call someone who speaks one language?
    American.

    With love and shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thank you! I used to study French too, but since I haven’t gotten to use it after jr high, I never got good at it. Then I attempted Spanish, but that semester of it was not very promising (my teacher had a lower attendance than our whole class combined). After that, I tried Japanese. I’m still not fluent, but knowing Chinese certainly helps me with it.

      I wish I knew more complicated languages, like Hebrew or Dutch. They sound really hard to learn, which makes me kind of eager to learn it, haha. So, I admire you for knowing Hebrew :)

      Your friend has my kind of humor :)

      Love,
      Cae

  2. Pingback: More writing | Caely in the making

Leave a Reply

