In the mood for reading

I went voting yesterday for the European Parliament. The results are heartbreakingly scary because extremist parties are gaining in numbers. But that’s not what I wanted to talk about.

I’ve started to read again. I finally picked up Game Of Thrones (still on the first book) and I’m reading it at every possible moment. So when I was crossing the street yesterday with the book in my hand, I realized that I’ve felt so naked in so long. I’ve completely forgotten how good it feels to hold a book in your hand. I used to be able to read and cross streets at the same time, but right now I feel like I’m too much of a newbie to pull it off. I remember never being able to put a book aside unless I’d finished it. Now, I just can’t decide whether to speed read it all or not.

I finished my drafts of both my report and my popular science article. Just a few moments ago, I sent it to the Dutchman and a close friend for them to read. I only asked them to read and told them if they understood my science or if I just wrote a lot of bogus that doesn’t make sense. Dutchman thought it made a lot of sense.

Yesterday was also the Swedish mother’s day. The Dutchman had bought me a game that I had longed for, but couldn’t really buy (I can’t decide what to get myself for getting my bachelor’s degree). I loved the surprise so much that I ended up playing it last night instead of working on my report and article. Whops.

Final Fantasy X and X-2 HD Remaster! Woho! Time to get 100% again ;)

Final Fantasy X and X-2 HD Remaster! Woho! Time to get 100% again ;)

//c_Cae; if you can’t find me, I’m in front of the TV :)

2 responses to “In the mood for reading

  1. Dear Caely,

    Happy mother’s day. ;) Good for you taking a respite to have fun. You’ll be refreshed when you get back to the report and article.

    I only rediscovered the joy of reading for fun about ten years ago. So many years were taken up with parenting and working that I’d lost that book loving side of myself.

    I’m abysmally slow when it come to making it through a book but I’m enjoying myself nonetheless.

    Off to enjoy some pool time.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thank you! I had a lovely time. Still feels weird to know I am a mother now.

      I hope to never lose it again. I never really realized that I felt so comfortable just holding a book in my hand. I tend to want to read it cover to cover as fast as possible. I love any stories (I once wanted to give up high school, travel the world and interview survivors of the Holocaust so that their stories would never be lost), so I really just want to absorb them asap :)

      Cheers,
      Caely

Leave a Reply

