Absent minded

I know I’m a klutz. I’ve known since I grew up to become a teenager. I was never a clumsy kid, but somewhere along the way I grew up to be one and it’s grown to be a part of me that I actually like about myself.

While it can be annoying at inconvenient when I’m in a hurry, it always end up with me laughing myself silly about it. Like the other day when I accidentally tried to put the wrong key into our front door. It looked something like this:

Genius, right?

Genius, right?

Yup, that’s what being an air-head gets to you. I don’t really know if it’s a side-effect from being a klutz or just another trait of mine. Anyways, it had me laughing a lot once I got into the apartment.

Today has basically been a family day. Zoe has been having a lot of fun at the playgrounds around town, and to both mine and the Dutchman’s delight she has even started to grab sand out of sandboxes just like a normal kid. Before, she would only step in it, stare at it and then say  “ewww” before walking away. Now, she even picks snails up, although we’re still stressing about putting the little critters back down on the ground gently. She’s also started climbing stuff. It’s definitely a trait from her father, since her mother suffers from acrophobia (even though I absolutely love roller-coasters and swings). Also, we even got a family pic snapped.

Can't say I've seen the Dutchman smile so happily, ever.

Can’t say I’ve seen the Dutchman smile so happily, ever.

She has many traits that resemble her father, although she’s about as picky with food as her mother. Which is a good thing, because it makes me a better cook :)

//c_Cae; a bit restless for another month before my last semester starts…

2 responses to “Absent minded

  1. Dear Caely,

    Zoe’s really growing. It shouldn’t be surprising that she’ll pick up critters when her mother spends hours waiting for flies to hatch. ;) Isn’t it fun to watch her personality develop.

    It’s nice to know I’m not the only klutz out there. I prefer to think of my absentmindedness as multitasking. Little details like locking the keys in the car…numerous times…is because my mind is on loftier things. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)

    Acrophobia is another thing we have in common. I’m better than I used too be. Stadiums have always been the hardest thing for me. Yet I love flying, go figure.

    Sweet family picture. Thank you for sharing it.

    Love and Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      It is incredibly fascinating to watch her character development. Not to romanticise it all, but watching a child grow up is more or less like watching a book being written. All the stories, all the little traits that grow and disappear over time.

      I love the things we have in common, perhaps that’s what makes this somewhat odd friendship the way it is. I love it and that’s all I need to know.

      Lots of love,
      Caely

Leave a Reply

