The past week

Wow, the past 7 days have been pretty intense. Last Friday, I was out in the field climbing cliffs and hurting my bum (from sitting on hard places, no pun intended). That following Saturday, I was at a beautiful wedding with beloved friends. The happy couple are very good friends to us, and I think I speak for all guests that it was a lovely sight seeing the two of them tie the knot.

The beautiful couple we're lucky to call friends.

The beautiful couple we’re lucky to call friends.

My last course at the university has started and I’m currently learning a lot about our planet as the course is all about hydrology (with too much geology, maybe). It was full of lectures and exercises. I’m kind of falling behind, although I don’t really want to admit it (I’d rather be a goody-two-shoes).

As if my schedule isn’t stuffed enough, I’ve started out on my Master’s thesis now! During the field week of my previous course, I was briefed about a project that sounded perfect in my ears. At first, it was a little bit scary, but then I realized that if it wasn’t scary, it wouldn’t be worth it. The project itself is about publication bias in published reports about climate change in marine environments. I could go on forever about this topic, but I’ll leave it be for now.

There’ll be a lot of statistics, which many of you know is not my forte. I hope it will be after all of this, though. I even emphasized it to my supervisor that I’m really a newbie to it, but he’s willing to teach me. And so it only makes me want to ace this whole thing. I’ll be fine, I’m just too excited about all of it, and I haven’t even written a project plan yet.

Apart from this, I’m probably taking on two other side-projects in different labs in the department. I miss lab life and I have no idea whenever I’ll step into one after I graduate, so I might as well take the chance now. I’ll have meetings tomorrow about them, so we’ll see how they turn out :) Hopefully, I will be granted permission to do them, too. Fingers crossed!

A little peek of my schedule. This is a completely normal week for me...

A little peek of my schedule. If it doesn’t look like this, I feel uncomfortable…

And here’s a little gem for you guys. Yes, that dark mark on the forehead is a bruise, she fell face-first to the ground the other week. Of course, we told her not to run so fast, but kiddo wasn’t listening :)

2014-11-08 14.00.23

//c_Cae; and yes, people did ask when the Dutchman and I will tie the knot. Our answer: that’s none of your business, it’ll be when it’ll be :)

4 responses to “The past week

  1. Dearest Caely,

    Challenges serve many purposes in life, not all of them visible at the time of the challenge. I have zero doubts that you will always answer yours with skill, grace and aplomb and that you will kick ass each and every time. It may not feel that way to you in the moment, but it will be so. You are solid and good and exactly what the world needs.

    Zoe looks delightful. A chip off the old block, eh? And as for you and the Dutchman tying the knot….You already have.

    Rock on, Caely.

    Love and Aloha,

    Doug

    • My dear D,

      I know that challenges are what make us all grow. Right now, everything feels great, but every now and then I’m really scared of what may come. The fact that you and R are riding this with me, makes it a little safer.

      Love you.

      Cheers,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    I echo Doug’s words. I’ve every confidence in you and your passion for learning. Progress is often uncomfortable and frightening.

    I love the picture of Zoe. My Travis had a perpetual bruise in the middle of his forehead until he was five or six. He ran everywhere and never watched where he was going. He was too excited about life and discovery. ;) I can’t believe her birthday’s coming up. If I were there I’d decorate a cake for her.

    Love and Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • My lovely R,

      It’s like you’ve known me forever. I know, everything new is well, new and scary. But the greater the challenge, the greater the reward. As far as I’m concerned, the more I learn the more I grow. Glad you’re with me on this journey :)

      I wish you were here, so you could teach me cake skills and we could have gravlax all the time ;)

      Love you.

      Cheers,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

