Most definitely crazy

I always had a hunch I was crazy. People have even called me that (jokingly, of course), and so it was easy for me to just “live up” to that. Last night, I realized that I most definitely am crazy.

Next semester, when my master’s thesis will officially start, I’ll be doing one mini, taking two extra internet-based courses and work part time in the lab. This will be super-interesting. I really have no idea how I’m going to pull this curriculum off. I told the Dutchman all about it last night, and he agrees: I am crazy.

In other news, I think I’ll ditch one mini (the one involving data-input). Last week, I was asked to help out at the Drosophila lab where I did my BSc, and I said yes to it. I wouldn’t mind doing the data-input, if it wasn’t for the fact that it took 2.5 weeks for the responsible student to reply an e-mail. That was definitely a turn-off. I’ll just stick to my thesis, my paid lab-assistant job and work on the flies again.

I know I didn’t update the past few days, and it feels like I have a million things to tell you guys. One thing, is that Zoe turns 2 this Sunday. I keep thinking where time has gone. 2 years just flashed by, and she’s still this little bundle of joy. I have yet to order a cake and buy her a gift. I really don’t know what to buy her. She loves Hello Kitty (her parents don’t really share this passion, but we encourage it because it makes her happy), and I want to buy her a huge Hello Kitty doll. Problem is only that it won’t be here before Sunday. I guess that it will have to be her Christmas gift instead. One day, I’ll take her to that Hello Kitty airport. I bet she’ll never want to leave, haha.

I also started watching a Japanese drama series, 1 litre of tears (1 Rittoru no namida). I don’t know why I’m watching it again. I’ve seen it so many times, but every time I watch it, it gets to me. It’s about a 15-year old girl that is diagnosed with a degenerative neurological disease and how she struggles to make the best of every day. I probably got 10 minutes into the first episode before I was crying rivers, haha. It’s that good. I don’t want to admit it, but it is a lot more exhausting to watch it as a parent, emotionally that is. I mean, how do you tell your 15-year old that she’s dying?  But the soundtrack is great, not that it really helps stopping the tears from coming. Damn ninjas, cutting unions everywhere.

I didn’t intend to make this post this long, but I wanted to share all the stuff from the past week. Generally, I’m doing pretty good, except that my aunts failed to tell me my god-mother died last week.  Write you soon :)

//c_Cae; don’t let anything take away a smile from your face, it’s the prettiest thing you can ever wear. 

4 responses to “Most definitely crazy

  1. Dear Caely,

    You are one busy lady. I’m exhausted just reading.

    Seriously, I’d say passionate not crazy. As for me I’ve always claimed “eccentric” for myself.

    The upside to Zoe’s Hello Kitty doll not being there until after her birthday is that at 2 she won’t know the difference. Two? Already? You were expecting when we met. Time does flash by. I’m so happy you’ve taken a place in my life and heart.

    I have certain movies I watch over and over. Mr. Holland’s Opus is always a good cry movie for me. And parenthood does put things in a different light, doesn’t it?

    I’m sorry about your godmother. I know the feeling. Although I hadn’t seen my scout leader in years, the news of her death last week devastated me. I’m sending you hugs.

    Thank you for sharing yourself here. I’m enjoying watching Caely in the making. ;)

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Passionate is probably a good word for it, I guess :) You’re passionate too, pursuing one of the most challenging careers as a write (I admire that).

      If I can find a Hello Kitty doll for her, I’ll definitely buy it for her. She’ll never let it go :) I can’t believe it’s been 2 years already. I feel like you’ve been here always, really. I can’t remember what it was like before we met…

      There’s a lot of feelings tumbling around. I don’t think I’ve wrapped my head around it just yet. Things take time, that’s what I’ve really learned this year. I never know what to say when someone leaves this world, so I’m just going to tell you that you’re always on my mind, always in my heart.

      You know that I love sharing, I can’t think of myself never sharing anything to anyone. It gives me a certain joy to life when I share things.

      Love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    Take pictures, give lots of hugs and love and keep writing down your feelings. Not only will the words from long ago help you remember the moments, they will make a great gift for Zoe when she becomes crazy in her twenties.

    You are such a fabulous person, Cae. Makes me want to cry.

    I love you,

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dear D,

      I will take those pictures. I hope to remember to get my recorder from my mom. One of the biggest reasons that I still keep this blog is so I can go back and read them, you taught me that. But also so that I can share it with the people who are willing to ride this ride with me.

      I bet she’ll be crazy around 15, if she takes after her mother. I’m in for a great ride…

      Thank you, and you’re precious to me, don’t forget that.

      I love you too.
      //C

Leave a Reply

