That silence

For the past days, I’ve had a million thoughts of what to blog about. I realized that I hadn’t posted anything for more than a month. It’s not like I feel obliged to post, but my fingers were tingling, yearning for writing.

My days are busier than ever. If full-time means 100%, I’m currently at 150% with a part time job (that is more of a full-time, really). Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I’m complaining. In fact, I’m actually enjoying it a great deal. The algae are satisfying, even if it kind of scares me a little that I am in charge of their little lives. But you only grow as a person outside of your comfort zone, right? :)

Zoe is also growing very fast. Just the other day, I thought of her first steps and now she’s running around asking me to follow. The other day, she actually stopped me from working. I was sitting next to her, and I think she was watching a movie. I reached for my book and flipped a few pages. Before I knew anything of its contents, Zoe took it and stared angrily at me. I told her to be gentle with it because it’s precious to me. She was, but she never returned it to me that night. I took it as she wanted me to spend some time with her, and I did. No work can keep me away from her for too long, even if I love working.

My thesis is also official now. It went official March 1st, and I’ve been working every waking second that I don’t spend with Zoe. Today, someone told me they were impressed by my work and I think I blushed. I never blush, but it felt very good to.

I promise to write again soon. I need to take time to relax now before I’m going to bed. Early morning again, and here’s a little gem for you guys. Until next time, dearies.

Thanks, Eve for sharing this and perfectly describing every morning ever :)

Thanks, Eve for sharing this and perfectly describing every morning ever :)

//c_Cae; I don’t want Fridays anymore because that means the week is over and I have less time to finish my scheduled things… 

4 responses to “That silence

  1. Dearest Caely,

    Here the rain has been falling for many days and the mountain is covered with new snow that has the road crews working hard to clear it. I haven’t been to work for one and a half of my four day shifts because of snow and ice on the domes. (Snow days!)

    I love your descriptions of life there and how Zoe (and your algae) are faring. I have no doubt that your work will continue to elicit praise which will make you blush. Get used to it. I’ve said it before and will say it again…this world needs you in it…and I’m glad that you are.

    Peace (and coffee) to you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • My dear friend,

      Rain is lovely, except of course when it comes with harsh winds and snow. I’m not very familiar of what snow is like on Hawaii, but I’m sure it’s nice nonetheless. Best part is when you can just enjoy hot beverages at home, dreaming away while it snows outside :)

      Zoe is also slowly, but steadily learning English. Perhaps the two of you can speak one day :) For now, I’m coping with my rosy cheeks and keep friends like you close to heart.
      Lots of love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    I’ve missed your blog. Life has a way of filling, doesn’t it. I love reading about your work and your daughter. It doesn’t seem like all that long ago I was congratulating you on your new baby and introducing myself as that stranger from the middle of the USA.

    I echo Doug. The world needs you in it. Perhaps one day we’ll share gravlax and hot coffee. Meanwhile I’ll be sending warm thoughts.

    It’s wonderful to read your voice again.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      I’ll try remembering to post more often, after all, this is your little window into my world. I love reading your comments, and your post card makes my day (although I haven’t figured out how to display both sides of it yet, maybe a transparent frame will work?). You’re no longer a stranger, but a precious and irreplaceable friend. Although miles apart, always remembered at heart.

      Lots of love,
      Caely

Leave a Reply

