Finally official!

Today, I got home to the best envelope I have ever opened. I finally received my Bachelor’s degree. Holding it in my hand felt surreal, and it still is. Can’t help but think about this amazing journey I’ve made the past four years.

What hard work looks like.

What hard work looks like.

2010 was when I had rebooted myself from all the relationshits I’ve been through, and I was super-hyped of getting back to university to pursue my dream. My first course of marine ecology brought me many friends that I still keep in touch with today. They made up a great proportion of 2010, and I can’t remember last I made such great friends that have lasted this long despite our distances. They made it a whole lot easier to stare down those Excel sheets of population models of Atlantic cod during fisheries ecology that fall.

2011 flashed by very fast. I took some general courses and hated the fact that I had to do them in Swedish. I had enjoyed my English speaking courses a great deal, and switching languages was just very frustrating, not to mention lonely. I met a great deal of inspirational people as well, only two of those do I still regularly speak with today.

2012 started out very tough, and at some point I almost felt like I had lost my inspiration to pursue my dream. Environmental law almost broke me, and I, unknowingly, was pregnant already. Having a few (read six) tests lie to me really shook my trust issues, haha. I had already started to plan out my Bachelor’s thesis, but it didn’t work out for another year. Luckily, my supervisors are brilliant and inspirational women so it still turned out very well. The latter half of 2012 is best described as human incubator/feeding machine and writing scientific essays. Yes, it is possible to do academic studies and be a parent.

2013 also flashed by. I spent a lot of time in the fly lab and was super excited to return to university, my second home. My BSc supers thought I was quick to return but I felt the opposite. I love being a mom, but I love uni life just as much. The fruit fly project was very successful, and I loved every bit of it. After that, I finally got back to taking aquatic courses again. How I had longed for a trip to the ocean, or any body of water for that matter. I went over my head and took an internet based course, and for a while I thought I was going crazy, but it turned out well thanks to a very easily handled daughter, cooperative Dutchman and a hard-working me.

2014 was a giant slap in the face. A lot of things had to be processed, and again, I was close of giving up. Today, I am infinitely thankful that I didn’t because it bloody paid off. It really did. When I think about it, I’ve compressed 5 years worth of studying into, well, 5 years but with a lot of things happening on the side. I studied like a crazy person (still studying), became a mom returned to uni not even 4 months after labor (seriously, employers would love me), and is kicking ass (somewhat). So, in short that’s my story. Life came and I’m living it. I just have to venture out there now and try get a PhD. That scares the living out of me, but as I told a precious friend today: Progress is made outside of our comfort zones.

hardwork

//c_Cae; good night, peeps!

2 responses to “Finally official!

  1. Dear Caely,

    This makes me smile and then smile some more. To say I’m proud of you is an understatement. The fact that you did it in a second language is even more impressive.
    Your attitude will determine your altitude and I predict you’re going to soar toward that Ph.D.
    That friend appreciated your support and precious insight. That comfort zone’s a place of decay and frozen dreams.

    I look forward to seeing more of those certificates. Someday in the not too distant future you’ll have a wall full of them.

    Much love and shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Sorry for the late reply.
      I read your words and they make me smile. I glance at your postcard, and I smile. You’re really precious, did you know? Friendships that make you smile are the best ones (and the only ones you should keep, right?).
      It doesn’t matter that much anymore that I get a PhD. It’d be great to have, but as long as I’m doing what I love, I really don’t mind. That, and my friends and family. If I have those things, I don’t really care about much more.

      Thanks for being a friend.
      Lots of love,
      Caely

Leave a Reply

