Serious work mode

Sorry for the low update rate again. As usual, the algae has had me busier than a bee. I don’t know what happened, but my boss thinks I’ve been taking a good care of the algae and therefore they have grown ridiculously fast. Normally, I only need to transfer the little guys to new medium once every 2-3 months. Last time I did it was precisely one month ago, and they all look ready for a new transfer. I have to transfer them if they’re ready or else they will die. All 700  (with backups) of them. Most of them are from Antarctica and to get there and sample, you need to go through an array of tests, one of which includes a psychological one. So, in short, these cultures/strains are really important.

Because of that, my thesis has kind of taken a blow. I haven’t worked with it as much as I like to, but I figure if I work like crazy during weekdays, I can reboot on weekends. So far so good, except when all the Antarctic, native, and Baikal (yes, lake Baikal) cultures need some loving, I really have my hands full of algae. Literally. Initially, I thought of getting 4h of algae and 8h of thesis going on every day, but that kind of doesn’t work with the algae when they get some proper loving. Some days, the algae take about 11 hours of attention. I still love it, so there’s that.

My thesis is still in its analysis phase and I have to gather all the data. Currently, it looks like this when I work:

11159135_10153247852752812_1888907514_o

There’s also a bunch of papers next to the macbook… I feel like my thesis need a lot more attention now. Especially when there’s a post-doc arriving tomorrow. My supervisor will probably hang out with her before setting up a meeting with me and a former student of his. We’re doing a collaboration where she will look into our data and see if there is any biases in the results depending on where the scientists received their funding (I look at the potential biases from the political events of IPCC’s fourth assessment report and Climategate).

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 21.45.50

That is what it looks like when you search ‘global warming’ with above mentioned criteria. Good thing I’ve already gone through about 9700 of those articles. Only this is for articles up until 2007, between 2007 and today, there’s 50 000 more articles to look through… But I think I impressed my supervisor and my boss for getting 70+ analyses done and managed 75h of algae work. So I got that going for me, which is super-nice.

I’m off to plan the Dutchman’s birthday, the thirtieth one. My god, why is it so hyped? It’s just a number, and he’s just a boy ;)

//c_Cae; so many things to do

4 responses to “Serious work mode

  1. Dearest Caely,

    It’s hyped because back in the day the cool generation (Every generation gets one shot at being the cool generation. After that, they’re relegated to uncool status) said not to trust anybody over thirty. So whenever anyone reaches age thirty it is a rite of passage from coolness to uncoolness and from trustworthiness to untrustworthiness. The Dutchman will still retain provisional coolness, but it won’t be long before he can begin to count the generations he is removed from cool. Zoe will let him know where he stands when she turns 13 or so.

    Stay on top of the algae. They need you. And so do we.

    Thanks for the update.

    Things are well here. High winds and knuckle headed protesters hijacking social media and common sense to try to stop the thirty meter telescope from beginning construction on Mauna Kea. Oh, well. Someplace has to be a backwater of science and education. Might as well be us.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dearest D,

      But all generations are cool! They each have their own history which has shaped them to what they are today. 30+ is definitely cooler than being younger than 30. I’ll do a post on what I think of aging :) I hope I can raise Zoe to think of aging differently than what most do today.

      Glad to hear things are well, I’m learning for every day with the algae. Is there anywhere I can read about the situation?

      Love,
      Cae
      (Ps, thanks for stopping by. ds.)

  2. Dear Caely,

    I’m not sure I can add much to what Doug said other than to agree with it. I remember thinking I was so old when I’d turned thirty. Although I didn’t really have much time to think about it since I’d given birth to son #3 a week before.

    I remember a TV program when I was a child where people were asked on camera which age was the best. One elderly lady said, “All of them.”

    I’m amazed at what you do. Again, I echo Doug. We need you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      You’re both so wise, and I appreciate to have you on my ride.
      I felt old when I was turning 19, because it sounded like 90 so I kind of had a freak-out then. But now, I think differently of age. As I told D, I’ll write a post about how I feel about aging.

      That elderly lady has a point. I really believe life is about learning, and for every age, you learn something, that makes all years the best one :)
      Love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

