Currently

Over the past weeks, I’ve been at a wedding, done a lot of work and realized how my thesis has improved many skills.

The wedding reception was amazing. One of my best friends, Daniel brought his wife over from Japan to hold a small wedding reception for friends and family. I love this guy so much, and I couldn’t wish for a more beautiful reception than the one we attended. We all cooked together and hung out like no time had passed since the last time we met. It was amazing, and he really found himself a great gal.

11209728_10155475521000648_1147865648790910516_n

Daniel and Etsuko <3

Algae work has been alright, there’s always a lot to do and a lot to learn. I love it, but the longer I do this, the more anxious I get. I feel like I want to stop time, so that I can enjoy this a little more, a little longer because I don’t know if I can apply/get a PhD. I know, there’s a lot of people cheering for me and I think of your words every day. It helps me think of other things, to live in the present instead of worrying too much about the future. The present is here to prepare us for the future, right? :)

For my online course, I have to write an essay about ocean warming, its threats and potentials (is there any?). So I did a quick literature search and found myself browsing through all of them within ten minutes and still get a hold of the relevant reports I can cite. My thesis has already improved my speed reading. I knew it would happen, but not so fast.

I’ve listened to Ed Sheeran’s Photograph all day. I don’t know why, but it just stuck with me.

I found myself thinking of you again. I still remember how it feels to hold your hands, to kiss your cheeks, how to make you laugh, how to you used to scold me. It makes me cry of various reasons. I’d love to do all those things again, I really do, but that era has ended and I can only cherish the memories I have of you. At least I got old enough to remember your grace and your wisdom. I wish the pain would go away, but today it’s overwhelming and I miss you dearly. Both of you. 

//c_Cae; “I will remember how you kissed me”

 

4 responses to “Currently

  1. Dearest Caely

    I just got done with my startup walk-around of the domes, telescopes and the favorite part of that evolution for me, the outside grounds. The sun is shining brilliantly and unwaveringly in the western sky, though soon it will be set and I will open Keck 2’s shutters. I took a lot of pictures so that I will remember this day in the future, which, at present, is not what it used to be. Now is all there ever really is and you are using you now well, so relax and learn to see more of it. You are a beautiful spirit and I’m glad I know you. You get to help me remember this life.

    Your algae sense you as you go about your work. Let them know they are helping.

    Love,

    Doug

    • Dearest D,

      Glad to see your comment, I have missed you (as usual). The pictures will tell you everything will be alright. They caught a moment in time, a moment that would’ve been lost had you not been there. They need you. I’m forever grateful you’re a part of my life.

      It may be weird, but I love the algae too much to be normal :)

      Lots of love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    You are right in cherishing each day each moment. The video made me think of how fast my sons grew up and how I miss those little boys.

    Your life matters. Your work, your beautiful spirit and friendship all inspire me. Like Doug, I’m glad you’re a part of my life.

    Love and shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Darling R,

      The present is all we have. Our pasts are our stories, the future is too large to grasp.
      I love the video, and it keeps reminding me that what I do is important. Although I work a lot, I always, always make time for Zoe. Like you feel about your boys, I feel for Zoe. I don’t ever want to miss a thing.

      I love that you’re a part of my story now. I really don’t remember what it was like before you came. I absolutely love it.

      Love you lots,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

