Early birthday present

I went to pick up some parcels today. While I was expecting my lenses and a few beauty-products, I got a gift from Missouri instead. Inside was a beautiful book, Please say kaddish for me, written by a dear friend of mine. It felt unreal to hold it in my hands. To hold a book someone I know wrote, I felt very proud and I’m still giggling as it lies here next to me. Inside the book, was a little postcard and a little signature. If I didn’t make it clear earlier, I am super-proud. It’s an early birthday gift, and I love it even though I haven’t read it yet. I will, I just have to finish my Pol Pot novel (40ish pages left, will take 20min to read). I think I only want books this year, so that I can quench the thirst of my inner bookworm.

11536036_10153404219007812_6893598664104598145_n

That penmanship is hard to beat!

I also got a new assignment at university. This time I will learn to isolate cultures so that they become bacteria-free. We’re currently working with some toxic algae whose toxin would cause liver damage in large doses, and we need them to be mono-cultures (cultures with only one species in them). I’m super-excited so I’ll probably skip around like a dork in the corridors. Lovin’ it!

//c_Cae; if there is no university or friends in my life, I wouldn’t know what to do…

4 responses to “Early birthday present

  1. Dear Caely,

    You’re a lucky girl. First edition, first novel, finest kind of friend. You deserve it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    P.S. Happy Birthday!

  2. Dear Caely,

    This friend feels lucky to have you as a friend. I’m so happy to feed the inner bookworm.

    Careful with the toxic algae, I want to continue this friendship for some time to come as I picture you skipping down the corridors.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Then the feelings are mutual :)

      I’ll be careful, they’re only toxic if you ingest them and I can assure you they don’t look appetising at all.

      Love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

