First meeting with international senior scientist

I know my last post was about how great my Friday that week was. I’m pretty sure I didn’t know that better things could come my way. Most my days I walk around thinking life doesn’t get better than this, and then, it does. Oh, if this post seem a little bumpy in the writing, it’s because I’m still excited.

Every Thursday, the Biology Institution has a seminar where they invite a guest lecturer to give a talk about their research topic(s). This week was about the invasive cane toad in Australia by Rick Shine from the University of Sydney. By that piece of information, my dear avid readers, you know that it would instantly get my attention. First, it’s an Aussie giving the talk, specifically, from the very university I want to get into. Second, it’s about an invasive species, and toxic at that. That really floats my boat. I went to the seminar like any person waiting to be let into the chocolate factory.

My thesis supervisor, Johan, was Shine’s host here, and there were an opportunity to meet up with Shine after his talk. I doubted for a few days, but decided to go anyway because if his topic already got me fired up enough to jump to the moon and back, there would be no harm to go meet the man. So I signed up. After I saw Johan at the talk and got myself introduced, he was super-excited over my interest. Understandable, I was basically jumping up and down.

I only got 30min with Shine and it was too little! I didn’t even get the chance to ask him my questions on his toads. After he heard about my thesis on publication bias, that was all we talked about. For 25 minutes, we were all over the climate change debate and biases. I could tell he was about has excited about my topic as I was with his. He even wants to read my thesis! That got me, and Johan got excited as well and told me we have to publish my work.

Hold on. Wait a minute, what? Publishing work is great, but I’m only half way through my analyses. Yes, I have some interesting indications already, but they’re inconclusive because not even half the data set is analysed yet. I really don’t want to get too excited in advance, but this is exactly what I wanted to hear. It confirms to me that Johan has faith in my work and so I need to work harder (is that possible?). I have a feeling this opens up a lot of doors for me. I’ll keep my eyes on that PhD door, though. It has to open soon.

This was great news, and probably the best Friday so far. This and the fact that my best friend in LA landed a huge job makes it all better.

//c_Cae; high on life!

2 responses to “First meeting with international senior scientist

  1. Dear Caely,

    The future is wide open. :D

    As for climate change…I have a friend who moved to New Mexico…bought a house in the desert for the dry air. Now she’s suffering terribly with her arthritis because of the high humidity they’re experiencing. Last week she was bruised by golf ball size hail and soaked in a downpour. And they had tornado warnings. Nah, there’s no such thing as climate change.

    At any rate I sending you much love and hugs. Thank you for letting me be a part of your unfolding journey.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dearest R,

      Life is amazing! :D
      I think it boils down to who told who what first when it comes to climate change. Once you’ve established a fundamental belief, it’s hard to change it. This just further stresses how important it is with critical thinking… I feel for your friend, must be awful for her :(

      Lots of love and hugs,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

