One of the reasons I love what I do

Except that I work in the very field I’ve worked hard to get myself educated in, there’s the people I work with that make it all better.  Let me tell you why.

Yesterday was the Swedish equivalent of Mardi Gras. On this day, we enjoy the particular creation called “semla” [sem:lah]. This is a soft (sometimes brioche) bun that’s split in half, filled with an almond mixture and a layer of cream in between the halves. Looks something like this:

yum~

They’re real tasty but most the time I can only have one, because just looking at a second one makes my blood vessels clog.

Because I had to leave early on Monday, I didn’t get a chance to have one with the unit meeting the same afternoon. Marie, the best lab engineer one can have, offered to save one for me. I told her it’d be really nice if she could save one, but it wasn’t a necessity. Later that day, this drops into my mail box.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 12.39.21

translation: Hi Helena, I put away one semla for you in Marja’s box. See you tomorrow then!? /M

It still makes me smile like a fool, I absolutely love the love that’s there. Can’t believe I’m this lucky, right?

Then, today my algae lab supervisor mailed me and asked me for some data and to look up some materials for a class. I replied saying that I would have it done tomorrow since I’m home with a sick mini-me. This was her reply:

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 12.39.44

translation: Hi Helena, No worries. Take care of your daughter! /Karin

And I’m over the moon. How did I get so lucky, that I get all of this in my life? I still hate the fact that this is almost a closed chapter, but this makes it a much better memory later. It’s simply beautiful, that’s what it is. I’ve said it before, and I do it again. Appreciation is our greatest need, and all of this, just proves those words are true.

//c_Cae; back to writing what I can

3 responses to “One of the reasons I love what I do

  1. Dear Caely or should I say Helena? ;)

    There’s nothing better than working with people who love and appreciate you. I’m glad your memories will be as sweet as the semla. Savor it while you can and I hope your next position will be just as delicious. And I hope Zoe is feeling better. <3

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Call me whatever is comfy for you, I respond to both ;)
      Have you ever had a semla before?
      Zoe is feeling better and so am I. Took her to daycare today and she refused to go (but ended up leaving my side without saying goodbye).

      Cheers,
      Cae

  2. I’ll stick with Caely. ;)
    I’ve never had semla. It does look delicious but then, I’ve been sugar free for sixteen years and gluten free for three. C’est la vie.
    That’s a sure sign that Zoe’s growing up.
    Glad you’re both feeling better.

    Shalom and hugs,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

