7 years here

3 days ago I got a notification that I have been on WordPress for 7 years. It sure doesn’t feel like 7 years. I’ve blogged for longer, just on different domains. I haven’t been on much lately, mostly due to the fact that I’m preparing for the overwhelming work that is the month of May. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love it, but being busy sometimes makes me forget about my blog.

Since my last post, I’ve been up to a few things. Without further ado, I’ll keep you guys posted, a little late, but it’s here now.

2 weeks ago, I went to meet a shiba breeder! I was really nervous, mostly because I’d only had one encounter with the breed prior to this meeting. That was enough to toss me into the rabbit hole that is shiba-information on the internet. After reading a lot, I figured it was no longer enough to just read. Sooner or later, I just had to talk to someone that makes a living out of this magnificent breed. So I mailed a local and reputable breeder and it turned out she has training sessions every two weeks! I signed up faster than I could ever type on a computer keyboard and off I went.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 13.13.48

If there were words of how happy I was, I would use all of them a million times over to describe this picture.

On this grass field, stood probably a dozen shibas. Just standing outside the fence had my heart pounding so hard, I could swear it was up my throat. After two seconds of grasping the reality I found myself in, I walked in. I was greeted by a few dogs and also got to play with a few 6 month old puppies. The breeder and I got to talk a little bit. I told her how I found out about the breed, but I never got to the part where I am very nerdy about the things I’m passionate about. I’ll get there. There’s another training session this Saturday and I’m thinking of bringing Zoe. She’s been telling us that she wants a dog. The funny part? We haven’t told her we decided on getting a dog. The catch is that this week’s training session is on agility, and I’m not sure I can run with a dog with Zoe with me. We’ll see how I’ll solve it. It’ll be fine if Zoe isn’t too clingy.

On another note, the Dutchman showed me a Final Fantasy event. To those unfamiliar with me, I adore the series (another thing I’m nerdy about). During this whole 2h long event, I went full fangirl. I think the only thing that can top my reaction to that event, is if I got to meet sir David Attenborough.
Anyway, I got all happy and the Dutchman went and bought me a PlayStation 4. Yay! Another console added to the family. Now I just gotta finish the thesis before I indulge in all the games I have had to put aside the past few years.

I also applied for a PhD at my home university. I didn’t get it but for some reason, I’m not disappointed at all. I think it’s one of two reasons, or maybe a combination of both, that I don’t feel disappointed at all. 1. I didn’t want it bad enough. Don’t get me wrong, I really would love a PhD, it’s just that the project wasn’t interesting enough to throw me off the planet. And reason 2, that the position should definitely go to the best fitting candidate. I mean, it’s an investment after all. Would you employ someone not fit for the job, if you knew it would cost you approx half a million dollars?

I don’t know why I don’t feel much about it. Maybe because it was a limnic (freshwater) project and not a marine one. My heart does beat for the ocean. I stopped thinking about as to why I don’t feel much over it. Colleagues have asked and everyone has been more bummed out than I have. I don’t know. I love my colleagues and it’s really sweet they care enough to be bummed out for my sake. I’m sure, though, that there is a PhD out there for me. It’ll show, and until then I’m just going to enjoy this ride.

And I’m going out to sea next week, woho! A lot is happening and I’m over the moon about it. That’s about it for now, I can’t remember anything more that’s interesting enough. Okay, maybe that the Batman vs Superman movie was a huge disappointment (2/5). I’ll be back soon, promise!

//c_Cae; back to analysing and writing

4 responses to “7 years here

  1. Dear Caely,

    I can’t wait to hear more about your soon-to-be new arrival. You’re a woman in the making who knows what she wants and doesn’t want. There’s nothing wrong with being a little nerdy over things you really enjoy. Never apologize for the wonderful human being that you are.

    I had no desire to see Batman vs Superman. I thought they were both the good guys. Wouldn’t this be something like sibling rivalry? I did see the new Star Wars movie and I have mixed emotions about that. (I’m pretty geeky about Star Trek and Star Wars.)

    Carry on, my dear. Life looms large and grand on your horizon.

    Hugs, love and shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dearest R,

      I stopped apologizing for who I am a long time ago, and I’m really glad I did. Sorry if the post implied that.
      Please don’t see it, it was a complete waste of time. They are both good guys but as with everything, misunderstandings are more common than you’d want.
      I saw the Star Wars movie too! I don’t know what I thought of it. The female lead was brilliant, music was amazing (especially the piano piece played when Rey slides down the sand dune) but I really don’t know how I feel about the whole Han Solo thing. I could write a review, but time does not allow it right now. I miss it though. Also, I didn’t know you were a Trekkie ;D

      Lots of love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Cae,
    I’ve been a trekkie since the 60’s and I’m still mourning Leonard Nimoy’s passing.
    I’ll admit that I was upset about Han Solo. I’ve since read that it was Harrison Ford’s request. :(
    I don’t think your post implied any apology. Personally, I love who you are and getting to be a part of your life as you are of mine.
    More Hugs,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Wow! I miss Nimoy too, LLAP, right? I loved hearing the story he shared about the Vulcan greeting. Can’t even put it to words how much that man meant, even though I’m not really a Trekkie.
      Yeah, I also heard about Ford’s request, sad really, but what to do?

      I love you too.
      Lots of hugs,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

