My first love

I remember the first time I saw you. I felt this calm while you gently reflected the sunlight and shimmered like blue marble. I was 8 at the time and I have loved you ever since. Almost 22 years later, I occasionally get to visit you and love you a little bit more. Yesterday was such a day.

I was recently assigned as course assistant for an undergraduate course. It’s mainly for 2nd year biology students, I think, and they’re supposed to learn how to use books (also known as keys) to identify different kind of animals. Because the lack of marine bottom fauna, I was sent out to fetch some. Along with one marine biologist professor and two journalists, we set out early morning and I was over the moon. Going at 30knots, the wind was hitting my face with ocean splash, and it felt great. It wasn’t even cold, and I have to admit, I was colder (still am) on land than I was when we were out. The only time when it was annoying was the brief hailing we experienced near the end of the day. Other than that, it was a perfect day at sea. We saw the R/V Sabella. I miss riding that boat. She’s huge (as opposed to our 7 man boat) and even has an underwater camera attached to her hull.

The ocean was so calm and it was the same marble blue as it was the first time I saw it, and I enjoyed every single second of it. As soon as we got back on land, the only thing that kept me from going on at sea, was my lunch. I had to have it at 430pm, but it was worth it. I was so happy to be at sea, I actually forgot about hunger. That’s a first, but it assures me that the ocean is still what I love most and that I am most definitely doing what I love. Soon, I’ll grasp that title of marine biologist. Soon…

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 20.06.25

This is the beauty I want to preserve.

It was kind of heartbreaking seeing a lot of ghost nets on the echo location. It’s even more awful to know that there’s a lot of seals that hang out here, and they could get caught in those ghost nets. Gotta save the oceans to save the planet :)

And I stumbled upon this comment to remind me of a lot of things. Mostly, it makes me miss my friend a lot, but it also reminds me to look back to where I came from and not be sad about whatever hardships are thrown my way. There are a few hardships to deal with, mostly at university and it rocks my self-esteem in a bad way. But I’ll keep your words in mind, and wherever you are, I hope you are safe.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 19.43.11

//c_Cae; having all sorts of muscle pain because of yesterday’s sampling, all worth it though! 

4 responses to “My first love

  1. Dearest Caely,

    This brings me to tears for more reasons than I can say. It’s a joy to see you becoming. I share your love the sea and of the missing friend.

    Keep sailing ahead. Someone needs to save the sea and the planet.

    Love and Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thanks for sailing with me, I’m loving the company. I hope those are tears of joy or else I have to be more cheerful in my writing :)

      Love you lots,
      Cae

  2. Dearest Caely,

    A person very dear to me tells me often about the miracle of the Universe, how if we will just ask, it will provide what we need, when we need it. Finding your post this evening is proof to me of this. Over the last two years I have come to embrace this truth and it has changed my life in many ways, all of them wonderful, all of them overflowing with love.

    I was reading about your first love and expecting… I’m not sure what, but then your words, some of the best and truest you’ve ever written, carried me away with you and your story. And then I came upon what you added and smiled. I am glad you are in this world, Caely. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. We need you. You are a touchstone and a guide star all rolled into one and I thank the Universe that set us on parallel courses.

    Keep taking those steps, Caely. You’re tracking true.

    Love,

    Doug

    • My dearest D,

      I am so happy to hear from you, so happy that I need someone to pinch me in case I’m dreaming… I am glad you are well. I’m glad to have you, it’s because of you and R that I keep on writing. I don’t know what I would do without the two of you. I’ll reply your mail soon.
      I love you!

      //Cae

Leave a Reply

