Good things

come to those who wait, they say. I say good things come to those who work for it. Last Friday, I had a meeting with my supervisor to discuss the results of my thesis. I really want to finish, but I keep on stumbling upon problems. The good thing is that my supervisor has a lot of faith in me. He told me I’ve done a good job so far (in my head, I still haven’t done smack). He also told me to interpret my results, write them down and send them to him.

Instead of blowing his mind, he blew mine. I’m actually pretty stunned he believes in me that much. I remember when I was doing my bachelor’s thesis, my then-supervisor and I actually sat down and looked at the results and discussed what they could mean. Now, it’s like I’m all grown up and ready to fly. I felt like he pushed me off a cliff, yelling You can do it. I’m not so sure I’m ready to fly solo yet. I am however struggling to get those damned prediction intervals to my normal quantile-quantile plots. Not going very well if I may say so myself.

Anyhow, a great thing happened even though it’s small. One of the reasons I wanted to become a marine biologist was because of Jacque-Yves Cousteau. His exploring of the oceans had me falling in love with the ocean like never before. I was 8 at the time. Now, his family continues his legacy and the ones that stand out the most to me are his grandson Phillipe and his youngest son Pierre-Yves. So the other night, I was on Instagram and saw a notification. I thought to myself that it’s probably some random person following me, but it turned out to be Pierre-Yves Cousteau. I nearly fainted and then got so excited I couldn’t sleep.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 14.03.43

So uhm, that’s a life goal I didn’t knew I had, haha.
Back to work, write you folks later.

//c_Cae; damn those prediction intervals. 

4 responses to “Good things

  1. Dearest Caely,

    One day many marine biologists in the making will be amazed when they realize that YOU are following them. You’re on the way and doing well in the process. Remember to look around as these days zoom past. Your career is just getting started. The tail end of your formal education will begin to merge with work you’ve done as you see what you might be able to publish. Fellow students and teachers will become colleagues and partners in research and action in the field. The hard work is paying off.
    Mare Nostrum is in good hands with you, Caely. Rock on.

    Love,

    Doug

    • Dear D,

      I hope so. I firmly believe that the best way of giving back to future generations is to inspire them to do great things. Thank you for having so much faith in me, sometimes I am too full of doubt. I wish both you and R could be at my thesis defence, but I guess publishing it here will be the second best thing :)
      Lots of love,
      Cae

  2. Dear Caely,

    I can’t improve on what Doug said. Only echo it and say how proud I am to be your friend. You can do it. As you supervisor pushed you off that cliff you sprouted wings and your span is is growing.

    Shalom and hugs,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      I love how the both of you echo each other, you’re really precious to me. Again, thank you so much for believing in me, really. Lately I’ve been so full of doubt. I think it’s exactly like D said. My formal education reaches its end and it’s difficult to grasp the change, especially after having studying for so long.
      I hope I can fly. And I won’t fly too close to the sun ;)

      Lots of love and hugs,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

