I’m alive!

Hi everyone!
Long time no write. I guess I have been processing a lot of things. There are so many things I’m gonna post about, so there’ll probably be a better update rate these coming days.

Since my last post, my best friend Frank has been here, I’ve gotten my thesis on track and I’m back as a TA. I’ve also been out to field doing my TA thing and it felt great. I’m sure I want to teach, but I really want to teach uni students rather than high schoolers. Many more uni students have that fire in their eyes, a fire of curiosity and willing to learn, a fire  I wanna feed.

First things first, and let me tell you about the first day Frank was here.
I took that entire week off and cleaned the house a bit, and prepped Zoe’s room so Frank could at least have some privacy during his visit. The Dutchman keeps asking me if I’m nervous but I’m more happy than nervous. I finally get to meet my friend from across the pond! So I take the train over to Copenhagen airport with my shitty sign that I promised him. His flight is slightly delayed and it takes forever to land. About 50min later, and an almost asleep me, he finally shows. At that point, I’m hanging over the wooden stand like an octopus on land. He says hi and all my tiredness is blown away. We hug and talk as if we just met the other day.

Grabbing the train back to Malmö, we just catch up a little, same old things we usually talk about. The view across the Sound, how green things are here, and the inevitable subject of work. Back at the apartment, we make coffee and while I prep the Wellingtons for dinner, Frank heads out to take some pictures.

I had also invited my mom and my brother for the Wellingtons, and surprisingly, my mom loved it. It was a bit overcooked for everyone else’s taste but for my mom, it was perfect. All good, dinner was a success and by the end of the night, everyone had a great time. Well, except for the hideous jetlag that struck Frank in the evening.

More to come in the next post.

//c_Cae; out to celebrate dad’s birthday.

2 responses to “I’m alive!

  1. Dear Caely,

    It’s good to see you back in the blogosphere. I’m so glad you got to visit with Frank. Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    Your second paragraph made me smile the most. Feeding the fire should be a teacher’s main motive. No doubt you will be that bright spot in your students’ lives. You have certainly become a bright spot in mine.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Dear R,

      Thanks!
      I think that is the essence of teaching, you need to feed that fire so that the students have the inspiration to nurture their passions. I hope I’ve inspired them enough.

      Love,
      Cae

Leave a Reply

